Jewish Lent: Day 1 Recap

Nobody seems happy that I am abstaining from drinking for 40 days, other than me that is.  It’s a good thing I’m not an alcoholic, because if I needed support I am certainly not getting it.

My boyfriend: “We have a lot of events coming up that require drinking.”  Require, really? Going to see a couple of bands “requires” drinking? Interesting.  Having dinner with friends “requires” drinking alcohol? Look around you.  There are lots of people drinking water or soda or juice at restaurants.  Just because you’re imbibing doesn’t mean everyone else is.

A friend that I’m going out with tonight to shoot pool together: “No problem.  We can smoke herb instead.”  First of all, I don’t smoke “herb”.  Secondly, wouldn’t that be even worse than drinking?

My children: “What for?”, and “You’ll never last 40 days.”  Okay…

A friend who wants to get together: “You can drink non-alcoholic beer.”  Why, I asked him, would I drink non-alcoholic beer when I don’t even like real beer?

All I have to say to all of my non-supporters is…

Try to be supportive.

Day 1 went off without a hitch.  This is not surprising since I usually don’t drink on four out of seven days anyway.  Tonight will be more of a challenge as I shoot pool with my friend in a pool hall.  I think I will conduct a social experiment: I will look around at the other players and see how many of them are drinking alcohol vs. non-alcoholic drinks.  I wonder if the serious players drink alcohol while they’re shooting.  I’ll let you know tomorrow.  Usually my pool game doesn’t start to get good until I’m halfway through my second drink, so I could lose really badly tonight.  On the other hand, if my friend is drinking vodka and smoking wacky weed maybe I will kick his butt!

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

