A Jewish Man and a Head Cold

My Jewish boyfriend has the sniffles.  He is not happy.  He’s very very sick.  You would think he has spinal meningitis.

He has not gotten out of bed since he came home from work yesterday.  He has a “fever” — at least 99 degrees.

He has the sniffles.

He has a cough.

His scalp hurts (researching that on Web MD took about a half hour last night).

I brought him fresh chicken soup,

Orange juice (that Vitamin C is essential in fighting off disease),

Cold-Eeze,

Diet Coke,

Tylenol,

Zicam.

We are taking him temperature every fifteen minutes (sometimes more) to make sure his fever is not spiking into dangerous territory.

He needs a haircut (badly!) so he will venture uptown for that, but we will nurse him the rest of the weekend.

He can tolerate television, as long as it is sports (particularly basketball) or news.  Anything else may worsen the scalp pain.

“Call the doctor”, I suggested (his mom agrees). 

“What for?” he replied.

Whatever…

Sometimes a Jewish man just needs a sick weekend in bed.  I am happy to oblige.  He’s a great boyfriend after all.  It’s the least I can do. 

I can nurse him for the weekend.  I have my children for company.  I have my nurse’s uniform (thank you Lorrie!).  It’s freezing outside anyway.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Jewish Man and a Head Cold

  1. unusual says:

    oo snaps! you’re a really good writer!

  2. Pingback: Interesting Facts

  3. superb blog & writing skills. you make this look easy lol. Keep up the great work I’ll be back to read more of your posts later my friend!

Leave a Reply

