James Frey’s New Book is Coming

I am a huge James Frey fan.  “A Million Little Pieces” was one of my favorite books ever.  His writing style is so innovative and unusual, and he tells his story in a way that is unbelievably engaging.  I couldn’t put it down, and when I finished I was thrilled to find out that there was another one… “My Friend Leonard”, something of a sequel to “A Million Little Pieces.”  I bought it immediately.

At the gym one morning, I was devouring “My Friend Leonard” with my mind and my eyes.

“You know he lives here,” someone said.

I wasn’t sure if he was speaking to me, and I was pretty consumed.

“He’s our neighbor,” the voice continued.

I looked up to see a friend of mine, walking on the treadmill.

“James Frey,” he continued.

Well… you can only imagine.  I would rather meet a writer like James Frey than almost any B actor I can think of.

And then guess what happened?

He walked in!!! Really! He sat down right beside me on a stationary bike, and kindly answered my questions for quite some time.  Not the relaxing workout he had probably been expecting, but he was gracious.  After all, I was one of his biggest fans.

But enough about me…

“Bright Shiny Morning” took a turn away from alcohol and drug abuse, and we found ourselves in L.A., where James lived for many years.  This novel dealt L.A. in a fresh way, revealing tales of celebrities, homeless people and lots more.  Again, I loved it.  He maintained his original voice, but proved that he has many stories to tell, not just his own.

And now, at last, another book is being published.  It is called, “The Final Testament of the Holy Bible,” and guess what?

You can’t read it on a kindle.

You won’t have an easy time finding it, and

It’s expensive.  $50 last time I looked.

He is publishing it himself.  Why not? This man is determined to change the way publishing works.  He pays writing students petty wages to write screenplays for him, and now he is shunning publishers after having proven (with 3 best sellers) that he can do whatever he wants.

He has partnered with an art gallery and artists and is printing just 11,000 copies (including what should be 1,000 collector’s items, signed by Frey himself).  I don’t want to spend $150 for the collector’s edition, or even $50 for the hardcover, so I guess I have no choice but to get it on my kindle (for the fine price of $9.99, but not yet available).  I’ll bet it wasn’t easy to program his free flowing prose into kindlish (a new word I just made up for kindle/English).

I will keep you posted! Can’t wait to get my hands on it.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to James Frey’s New Book is Coming

  1. Lorrie says:

    I love you. Read all your blogs everyday and feel so connected with you and where you are in your life. However, this is very one-sided. You are getting nothing from my obsessive relationship with your blog. Other than a hit a day.
    Xo,
    L

  2. mallorylayne says:

    Well call me. I’m not having a great time of it lately.

Leave a Reply

