The Sleep of the Innocent

What is it with men anyway?

A man can have a terrible day at work,

A guy can have a huge fight with his wife,

Some dude can find out that his teenager was just arrested for selling drugs…

But he will still fall right to sleep.

The sleep of the innocent, that’s what men have.

One minute a man is fretting over something life changing and thirty seconds later he is fast asleep, remote control in one hand, something else in the other.

One second he is watching an important news show and the next he is snoring, oblivious to the problems that plagued him only moments earlier.

I toss and turn.  I worry.  I wake up after a measly three hours of sleep and try to solve the problems of the world from my darkened bedroom. 

I have nightmares: wake up screaming, or talking, or sweaty from fear.  I can’t find my locker in high school, can’t find my classroom, I’m naked walking down West Broadway, my teeth are falling out…

Men sleep happily.  They sleep calmly.  They wake up refreshed.  They will dream, but they won’t remember.  Men sleep like newborns — peaceful and free of thoughts.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

