Tequila anyone?

I am often stunned when on vacation as I watch other vacationers drinking from morning until late at night.  Today was no exception.  An attractive late 30’s-early 40’s couple was drinking beer in big clear glasses embellished with limes when we arrived at the pool at around 10:30.  Throughout the day we watched them switch to margaritas (first on the rocks and then frozen, salted rims on their chilled glasses), which they continued with until we left the pool area at around 4.  But before we left I heard them telling a family sitting beside them that they had consumed a half a bottle of tequila each by 9 p.m. last night and still made it up for a 7 a.m. tee time today.  The woman said that she had four shots of tequila at the bar before dinner. 

That’s fun?

Weird way to vacation, I’ve always thought, but maybe I’m in the minority. 

As a mid-20’s married couple, my then husband and I shared a house in the Hamptons with several other couples.  While we played tennis and he played basketball the rest of our housemates drank.  We were the odd men out for sure and sometimes I feel like I still am (in this case the odd woman I suppose), but I really don’t care.  Getting loaded early in the day, especially while basking in the sun, just doesn’t seem appealing to me.

It seems fattening.

It seems unhealthy.

It seems exhausting.

We were greeted with free tequila in our room when we checked in at 3 p.m. yesterday afternoon.  We waited…

We went to the gym, we went to the beach, we read our books…

And today, while watching everyone drinking tequila in every possible concoction imaginable we worked out, and relaxed, and ate lunch, and napped…

However, it is 6:30 now and we are ready. 

Margaritas anyone?

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tequila anyone?

  1. Matt Kanterman says:

    I guess you haven’t been to a Michigan football game yet have you haha.

Leave a Reply

