The Over 50 Club

Have you heard about the Over 50 Club? I hadn’t.  But yesterday I turned 50 and everyone started telling me that life only gets better from now on, that you just start living at 50.  Sounds suspicious to me, but I’m game.

As they say…

Youth is wasted on the young.

I wish I knew what I knew today when I was in my mid-twenties, or even my early thirties.  I would have done a lot of things differently, that’s for sure.  For better or worse I can’t say, but I will tell you that being a mother has totally shown me that children need to try things first hand.  No matter how much wisdom we impart, they need to go through the motions themselves, make the same mistakes we did. 

Technology evolves, but do we?

I will tell you one thing: I feel so young inside, and it’s a total head warp sometimes to look in the mirror and see grey hairs popping up, body parts not quite where they once were.  The one part of youth I would like back is that long shiny mane of hair, the smooth smooth skin all over my body.  But it wouldn’t be worth going through all that learning again.  I’ll take the wrinkles and greys any day. 

And what about being called “Ma’am?” When did that happen? That is the worst of all! One day I was being carded and the next I was my mother.

Well, I’m not sure what this whole “life begins at 50 thing” is about, but I’ll keep you posted.  My daughter asked me when birthdays stop being fun, important milestones.  17 for a Driver’s License, 18 to vote, 21 to drink…

The next birthday I’m really looking forward to is the one when I get the Senior Citizen’s discount at the movies.  When does that kick in?

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

